In Six Languages

In a fine example of the meaning and spirit of inclusive national identity, members elected to the Scottish Parliament will today take their oaths in a total of six different languages: English, Gaelic, Scots, Doric, Urdu and Italian.

SNP group convener Gil Paterson said: "We have a wide range of cultures, roots and linguistic ties in this 69-strong group of SNP MSPs, and as our MSPs take their seats they are highlighting just some of the different cultures the SNP represents across Scotland."

The Scotsman, 11 May 2011

Bookmark and Share